Theatre St-Bruno Players

The Early Days of the Players
Some thoughts by Michael & Diana Randerson, Victoria B.C.

"In September 1974 Diana met Beri Ebsworth and shared information on the background each had in theatre. Subsequently, while chatting with Glynda Myers about the absence of theatre in St Bruno, she said that both she and Carl might be interested.

Beri had contacts with Greenfield Park, the Hertel Mountain Players and the St Hubert Base theatre groups but wanted a home-grown version. An informal meeting was held at the Myers' home on Townsend Ave. where it was determined to advertise in the Journal for interested participants and to commence play readings in people's houses.

Once a couple of plays had been read, enthusiasm was generated for a late spring production of the Mousetrap. During November of 1974 it was decided to form an executive with Michael as President, Diana as Secretary, Beri as Vice President, Glynda as Treasurer, Ken Dimoff as Business Manager and Rene Archambault as Member-at-large.

There must have been about a dozen or more attending the play readings and as momentum developed many more people contributed to the success of that first production on a shoestring, as may be seen from the progam. One other who particularly comes to mind is Sue Stevenson who is not mentioned on the program.

After the Mousetrap production in early June 1975, essentially the same executive was democratically elected except that Rene had been posted away and was replaced by Louise Millar as Member-at-large, who later replaced Ken as Business Manager on his resignation. Don Stevenson pushed for a Constitution and he commenced work on this (we think with help from Peter Crooks).

Beri was all for having our own rehearsal premises and aspired to something like the Piggery! We took a look at a delapidated barn on farmland off Rue Vingt-Cinq and another shack not far from where you live. Then we settled for the United Church Hall."

The first St-Bruno Players production was performed at Mount Bruno School in June 1975. Three current members of the troupe participated in that very first production. They are: Peter Crooks, Betty Docker Ménard and Andrée Taylor.

Voici quelques extraits du programme de cette première production:

The St.Bruno Players presents

The Mousetrap
Agatha Christie's

7th & 8th June 1975

Director: Beri Ebsworth
Assist. Director: Diana Burns

The players(in order of appearance)
Mollie Ralston: Hazel Dutton
Gilles Ralston: Philip Booth
Christopher Wren: René Archambault
Mrs. Boyle: Diana Randerson
Major Metcalf: Peter Crooks (1998 member)
Miss Casewell: Glynda Myers
Mr. Paravicini: Michael Randerson
Sergeant Trotter: Carl Myers

Act 1
Scene 1: the great hall at Monkswell manor
late afternoon

Scene 2: the same - the following day after lunch

Act 2
The same - ten minutes later
Time: early 1950's

Produced by special arrangement
with Samuel French (Canada) Limited Toronto



Stage Manager: Don Stevenson
Assist. Stage Manager: Vesta Crooks
Set Design: Philip Booth, Michael Randerson
Lighting: Peter Burchert, Carol Lehman
Wardrobe: Vesta Crooks
Properties: Betty Coulombe (1998 Member)
Andreé Taylor (1998 Member)
Make-up: Mary Booth, Carol Lehman, Lorna Singh
Special Effects: Peter Burchert
Sound: John Dutton
Advertising: Linda Pollock
Publicity Manager: Louise Millar
Business Manager: Ken Dimoff
Photography: James Zintel
Program: John Dutton



St.Bruno City Hall Mr. Dufour, Cultural Affairs Lighting Parks And Recreation Dept. St.Bruno;
St.Bruno Youth Association Inc.;
Vanier College
Program Printing John Pollock
Scaffolding Centre D'Aluminium St.Bruno Ltee.
Sets On loan from The Arcadians and The Hub
Wallpaper McCarry Wall Coverings, Montreal
Wardrobe Nearly New Shop St.Bruno

Thanks to the many people, too many to mention, who made this production possible

Théâtre St. Bruno Players' first production (June 1975)


What's new? | Company | History | Shows | Websites | Recent productions | Mail |
Home |